Losing Weight


Something that has always been important to me is looking good and feeling good because they both go hand in hand in my opinion. Since a young girl I have always responded well to exercise even after having five children I was able to get back into shape and feel good about my body.

Last year I became very ill and had a kidney infection that had no symptoms until it was very bad to the point I was throwing up blood and my blood became septic and I was kept in the hospital having seizure after seizure. The doctors told me I might die, my fever was very high and wasn’t coming down, I was in the hospital in extreme pain where I received strong antibiotics, fluid and was kept in a hospital bed for a week. I wasn’t allowed to leave the bed unless it was to use the washroom. I hallucinated and I was very frightened it was my last days on this earth. You never realize how precious life is until you are on the bridge of death.

Thankfully I got better and was feeling better after two weeks on antibiotics and medicine to help my seizures.

Unfortunantly the infection had taken a toll on my body and I gained weight which has been hard to keep off because I haven’t had the energy to exercise to help shed my tummy off again.

It wasn’t until two weeks ago when I decided I was going to push myself and focus to get back into shape. I began the exercise routine that has always worked for me in the past and I started to feel better after the first week and notice some changes. I exercise once a day, 5 days a week. I took it slow at first because I knew that it does no good to over work your body. I realize for many this may be hard to do because we all want fast results,so we push our bodies too hard too soon. I am taking my time, I started out with 5 mins of crunches, 5 mins of leg lifts and 5 minutes of running in one spot.

Three days later I began 10 mins of each and added more crunches and leg lifts, listening to what my body could do. When it hurt I did only 4 more and stopped. I increase the intensity every 3 days and have a two day rest from my routine on weekends which gives my body time to recover and work it out because as you may not know, your body doesn’t make changes during exercise, but after, during resting times.

I ate smaller quantities and take in more protein which helps. Drink more water, snacks like peanuts are good and potatoes which surprisingly help to get rid of bloating and salt effects on the body. Not many potatoes. But one every other day.

As you can see from my before working out photo above and the 2 week later photo, my body is responding nicely. I can already notice the bloating going down and that’s just two weeks. I am excited to see how well my body gets back into shape after a month or two.

I feel good, I have no difficulty walking up hills anymore which was extremely exerting for me before.

🙂 I will continue to show my progress with you all. Wish me luck.

2 thoughts on “Losing Weight

  1. Hey, I never knew you were even sick much less almost died. Glad to hear your better now. Look forward to the Amanda “Belly Show” lol even better, a belly dance. Anywho, glad your better and hope you continue to do so.

Spit It Out!

